Lil Jon and the Tilted News Cycle

What I’m missing in my media feeds — and what I’d like to miss

Kerry Dooley Young
4 min readAug 30, 2024

--

5c Register and Vote single stamp, U.S. Bureau of Engraving and Printing. 1964. Source of image, which is in public domain, is U.S. National Postal Museum.

A celebrity who recently splashed into the news cycle about the U.S. presidential race also did something noteworthy a decade ago.

It was kind of a big deal, that 2014 story.

You might be guessing that I’m referring to a celebrity who did something wrong.

Nope.

This is something good that got left out of the news cycle. (Caveat here: This is not a partisan article. It’s only some personal observations about trends in the media.)

I want to tell you about the rapper Lil Jon, who had a renewed burst of fame in August 2024 due to a connection with one of the presidential campaigns. You may have read stories about how he performed his hit “Turn Down for What” at a big campaign event.

I didn’t know much about Lil Jon before this performance. I watched it to stay up on current affairs.

It sounded like Lil Jon said something else, not “turn down for what.” It sounded like “turn out for what.”

Yup, I checked it with the handy Otter transcription tool. Otter says “turn out for what.”

It took more Googling than it should have to confirm that, yes, that’s what Lil Jon…

--

--

Kerry Dooley Young

D.C.-based journalist who travels for fun. Has eaten in more than 60 countries. Digs kindness, paintings, architecture, museums, food, cities and democracy.